By GOLFTEC Digital

Winged Foot is steeped in major tournament history, from the 1929 U.S. Open won by Bobby Jones to this week’s 2020 U.S. Open. The Tillinghast design has always been a stern test for the best players in the world. This year’s winning score debate has many predicting an over par outcome.

Check out the timeline of the great historical events below.

Designed by A.W. Tillinghast

Champion Bobby Jones (+14, Playoff)

“I should never care to argue for anything that would lessen the difficulty of the game because difficulty is its greatest charm.” – Bobby Jones

Champion Dick Chapman

Champions U.S. Team, Captain Francis Ouimet

Champion Betsy Rawls (+7)

Champion Billy Casper (+2)

Champion Susie Berning (+11)

Champion Hale Irwin (+7)

“We’re not trying to humiliate the best players in the world. We’re simply trying to identify who they are.” Sandy Tatum, 1974

Champion Roberto De Vicenzo (+1)

Champion Fuzzy Zoeller (-4, Playoff)

Champion Davis Love III (-11)

Champion Ryan Moore

Champion Geoff Ogilvy (+5)

What’s your Guess? Post your Winner and Score predictions in the comments below!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here